Pro-Chancellor and the Chairman Governing Council, Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB), Dr. Barrister Aboki Zhawa has declared that every member of the University Community is important to the success and development of the System.

The Pro-Chancellor who made the declaration while speaking at the Founder’s Day and 2018 Award of Excellence Ceremony held in the University said every member of staff is special and unique in their own way as they all play significant roles in the progress of the University. He enjoined superior officers not to look down on any of their subordinates but to treat them with love and respect.

The Chairman, Governing Council noted that those that were being honoured were those who have distinguished themselves in their various fields. He assured that the Award of Excellence will be sustained as a means of promoting and rewarding excellence in the University.

According to him, “Those of you that will receive award today, you have distinguished yourself as the best or one of the best in the society but be very conscious, there are out there some that will be competing with you. Don’t look down on anybody. When you get award today don’t think others do not matter. Even the driver that drives you is important. Everybody is important”, he stressed.

Dr. Zhawa charged FUNAAB students to take a cue from one of the awardees, Professor Olufunmilayo Adebambo whose research breakthrough brought about FUNAAB Alpha Chickens and strive at inventing something new.

Earlier in his Welcome Address, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Kolawole Salako disclosed that Night of Excellence which was introduced in 2009 but for some reasons the University was not able to have the programme for a long time, was conceived to celebrate past students that distinguished themselves in their academic pursuits and graduated with First Class Honours and current students who are showing strong evidence of graduating with a First Class degree.

He said the ceremony was later expanded to include the Staff Productivity Award for exceptional employees both Academic and Non-Teaching staff members, for their outstanding performance and contributions to the progress and development of the University.

According to Professor Salako, “This administration under my leadership, realizing the need to celebrate and appreciate excellence and also to celebrate our Founder’s Day, is resuscitating it and by the grace of God will ensure that it is sustained and held on 1st January annually, as originally intended”.

The Vice- Chancellor further disclosed that “for both staff and students, the award is intended to inspire all to strive for the highest level of excellence in the performance of assignments”, adding that the Award was also extended to pupils in the University Staff School who are budding icons of excellence.

The 2018 Award was categorized into Outstanding Undergraduate students, Outstanding Pupil and Student, Outstanding Sport Student, Outstanding Physically Challenged Student, Staff Productivity Award, Most Punctual and Regular Staff and Most Deserving Long Service Award.

For Outstanding Undergraduate students, Soniyi Abosede Aramide and Alabi Funmilayo Rachael clinched the 100 level student category Award, Ezenandu Obinna Emmanuel won the award for the 200 level student category; Sarumi Oluwafemi Azeez bagged the outstanding 300 level student award while Akinyele Oluwatobilola bagged the award for outstanding 400 level student.

Others were Agboola Moyosola Timothy for Outstanding 500 level student award and Jarra Essa for outstanding 600 level student award.

Outstanding Pupil and Student awards went to Akinola Joy and Adedigba Maltida Temiloluwa of FUNAAB Staff School and FUNAAB International School, respectively.

The Outstanding Sport student award was bagged by Oyinloye Naomi Adedoyin while Adewole Anu Samuel clichéd the award for Outstanding Physically Challenged Student.

Staff Productivity award was received by Prof. Mrs. Olufumilayo Adebambo, Dr. Adewale Mathew Taiwo, Mr. Bolarinwa Peters and Mr. Gbolahan Lawal while Most Punctual and Regular Staff was clichéd by Mr. Babatunde Shehu and Mr. Kehinde Ogungbemi.

The Most deserving long Service Award was bagged by Prof. Toyin Arowolo, Mrs. O. O. Adebo and Mr. Efiong Ekanem.

Congratulating the Awardees, the Vice-Chancellor charged them not to rest on their oars but to continue to put their best in every task that they handle, while urging other members of staff to strive harder because it may be their turn next time.