Three members of staff of the University will on the strength of the Governing Council’s approval, proceed on study leave with pay.

The approval was granted at the 66th statutory Meeting of the Council in favour of Mrs. M.U Olanipekun of the Department of Electrical/Electronic Engineering, Mrs. F.M Alayaki, Civil Engineering and Dr. (Mrs.) O.O Adewumi of Animal Production and Health.

During the period of the study leave, Mrs. Olanipekun will be pursuing a Doctoral Degree in Electrical Engineering at the Tshwane University of Technology, Pretoria, South Africa, while Mrs. Alayaki will be pursuing a Ph.D programme in Geotechnical Engineering at the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom and Dr. (Mrs.) Adewumi will be utilizing a visiting scholar Fellowship Award at the Institute of Zoology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China.

A release signed by the Acting Registrar, Mr. Adeleke Adeboye, informed that the study leave for Mrs. Olanipekun and Mrs. Alayaki will be for a period of three years each with effect from May 2011 and October 2011 respectively.

Dr. Adewumi will be away for a period of three months, with effect from July 1, 2011.