The Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB), has been awarded the hosting right of the 37th Annual Conference of the Nigerian Society for Plant Protection (NSPP).

A release, signed by the National Secretary, NSPP and the University’s Director, Community-Based Farming Scheme (COBFAS), Dr. Joe Atungwu, informed that the University was unanimously awarded the hosting right during the just-concluded 36th Annual General Meeting of the Society, held at the Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA).

According to the National Secretary, the University was awarded the hosting right in recognition of its unprecedented academic and infrastructural development.

The release further noted that participants from the University were at the AGM, elected into various positions of responsibilities.

The University’s Chairman of (ICETOP), Professor Yahaya Adeoti, served as the Returning Officer during the elections which saw Drs. Joe Atungwu and Ishola Odeyemi emerging unopposed as Secretary and Assistant Secretary, respectively, while Dr. (Mrs.) Emily Ayo-John, was elected the first South-West Zonal Coordinator of NSPP.

Dr. Atungwu disclosed that the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Oluwafemi Olaiya Balogun had consequently endorsed the approval for the Conference to hold in the University, between March 25 and 29, next year.