The NAAT Chairman, Comrade Sunday Akinbola

The NAAT Chairman, Comrade Sunday Akinbola

The National Association of Academic Technologists (NAAT), FUNAAB Chapter has elected Comrade Sunday Akinbola as its new Chairman.

Comrade Akinbola emerged Chairman with 43 votes in a keenly-contested election with two other contestants, Mr. Dolapo Awoyemi, the Out-going Vice-Chairman and Mr. E. O. Anise.

According to Comrade Akinbola, “Majority actually foresaw where the pendulum was swinging but we did not take things for granted, we worked seriously to ensure victory”.

The new Chairman, who described the peaceful transition, which was witnessed by the National Vice-President of NAAT, Comrade Musa Bawahala, as an attestation of the unity enjoyed among members of the Association, said he would ensure the sustenance of same.

Comrade Akinbola also declared that as the Chairman of the Association, he would work towards improving the welfare of his members.

Speaking on his achievements while in office, the out-gone Chairman of NAAT, Comrade Adetiloye Adebukola, said he was able to foster peace and unity among members of the Association, which in turn, translated into the peaceful and successful conduct of the Association’s elections.

Comrade Adetiloye also noted that it was during his tenure that the Directorate System was introduced for the Technologists Cadre and that NAAT members were granted leave.

“The former Career Structure for NAAT has its apex at CONTISS 13 but with the new Directorate Structure, members can now get to the pinnacle of CONTISS 15, provided they hold a Master’s degree, since we are working in an academic environment”

“This has also helped Technologists to upgrade themselves since they know they can now get to the pinnacle of their careers if they possessed a Master’s Degree”.

The out-gone Chairman solicited for the assistance of Management in the training and the re-training of its members stressing that as Technologists, they work with equipment and needed to be educated on how to handle such equipment for optimal performance.

Mr. Adetiloye lauded the University’s Management for providing a congenial environment for the Union to strive while advocating that the staff strength of the Technologists in the University, be increased.

Other newly-elected NAAT Executives are Mr. M. Olanloye, Vice-Chairman; Mr. O. J. Olurinde, Secretary; Mrs. A. O. Adejimi, Treasurer; Mr. E. I. Olugbogi, Financial Secretary; Mr. T. A. Alake, Assistant Secretary and Mr. I. O. Oloye, Public Relations Officer.