The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Olusola Oyewole, has been appointed as the National Coordinator of the Organic Agriculture Project in Tertiary Institutions in Nigeria (OAPTIN).
According to the Chairman, Local Organizing Committee, Dr Jonathan Atungwu, the Vice-Chancellor was chosen because of the University’s immense support for OAPTIN and for providing an enabling environment for human and technological development of organic agriculture in Nigeria.

Dr Atungwu disclosed that Dr (Mrs) Florence Olowokere of the Department of Soil Science and Land Management, Dr Olalekan Sakariyawo of the Department of Plant Physiology and Crop Production and Mrs Tunrayo Joseph-Adekunle of the Department of Horticulture were elected as National Coordinating Scientists, National Secretary and National Treasurer respectively.