The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Olusola Oyewole, has commended the immense contribution of the past and present leadership of the Institute of Human Resource Development (INHURD), for the enormous success recorded by the Institute.

Speaking at the Appreciation Party, held in honour of the past Directors and members of staff of the Institute, Professor Oyewole noted that the development of INHURD was as a result of the vision, hardwork and dedication of its founding fathers and members of staff.

According to him, the establishment of INHURD, formerly Centre for Human Resource Development (CENHURD), could be traced back to the pioneer Vice-Chancellor, Professor ‘Nimbe Adedipe, who conceived the idea; the good insight of his successor, Professor Julius Okojie, who made it a reality; the initiative of Professor Israel Adu and Professor Ishola Adamson, when the Centre expanded phenomenally; as well as the immediate past Vice-Chancellor, Professor Olaiya Balogun, under whose administration the Centre metamorphosed into an Institute and later re-located to its permanent site.

The Vice-Chancellor said since inception, the Institute had been blessed with dynamic leaders, as he re-stated his call on all to join hands in moving it forward.

He said that very soon, there would be computerized identity card for members of staff and students, which would last for one year.

The Director of INHURD, Professor Francis Sowemimo, also appreciated the contribution of the past Directors, promising that the Institute would keep the flag flying.

He disclosed that the Institute had come of age and would soon start international programmes such as TOEFL and SAT in addition to the IJMB

A-Level, which it is currently running. Professor Sowemimo, however, appealed to the Vice-Chancellor to assist in building more lecture theatres and effect repairs on the main road leading to the Institute.

Past Directors, who were honoured at the appreciation party are: Professor Segun Lagoke, Pioneer Director (2002 – 2006), Professor Babatunde Oguntona (2006 – 2007), Dr Taofiq Salisu (2007 – 2011) and Professor Babatunde Kehinde (2011- 2013).

Other members of staff that were also rewarded for their outstanding performance are: Mr Vincent Olukayode Osidipe (Best Tutor of the Year), Mr Fatai Akinwunmi (Best Demonstrator of the Year), Mr Pius Adurodola (Best Bursary Staff), Mr Mathew Adebayo (Best Security Officer) and Mrs Mary Sodiya (Best Clerical Staff), while Professor Sowemimo was in turn, honoured by members of staff for providing excellent leadership.

Dignitaries present at the occasion include the University’s Principal
Officers, Deans, Directors, the former Rector, Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Alhaji Waheed Quadri, as well as Baales of the Mawuko community.