The immediate past Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic, Professor Toyin Arowolo, has received the Meritorious Award of the College of Environmental Resources Management (COLERM), of the University.

Speaking at the occasion, the Dean of COLERM, Professor Clement Adeofun, outlined the immense contributions of the awardee to the development of the College and the University, describing Professor Arowolo as a quintessential academic, who is very articulate, always well prepared for his lectures and willing to serve at any given opportunity. The Chairman of the event, Professor Adekojo Waheed, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic, who was represented by the Dean, College of Food Science and Human Ecology (COLFHEC), Professor Folake Henshaw, commended COLERM and the Dean for their initiative in conferring awards to outstanding members of staff, noting that people who deserved recognition should be appreciated while alive.

Staff also honoured for their meritorious services to the College and the University include Professor Olasunbo Martins, the oldest Professor and a Super Dean for six years (2000-2006); Professor Samuel Oluwalana, former Dean of Student Affairs (2000-2012); Professor Michael Aduradola, former Director, FUNAAB/FMENV Linkage and Conservation Centre (2006-2012); Professor Moses Adedire, the immediate past Dean (2011-2014); Professor Olukayode Bamgbose, Pioneer Director, Centre for Entrepreneurial Studies (2011-2013); and Professor Samuel Onadeko, Pioneer Director, Zoological Gardens (2011-2013).

Others are: Dr. Femi Adekunle, the immediate past Director, FUNAAB/FMENV Linkage and Conservation Centre; Dr. Olufemi Idowu, former Deputy Dean (2011-2013) while Dr. Grace Oluwasanya, Dr. Adewale Taiwo, Dr. Olusoji Olujimi and Dr. Olawale Ajuwon were rewarded for their academic excellence. Also honoured were two retirees, Mr. Rufus Udolisa, a former lecturer in the Department of Aquaculture; Mrs. Funmilayo Adekunle, a former Higher Executive Officer and Dr. Andrew Agbon, a lecturer in the Department of Aquaculture and Fisheries Management, who has transferred his services from the University. Mr. Ebenezer Olopade, Mrs. Elizabeth Benson and Mrs. Praise Ofuani were equally recognized for their excellent performance in sporting competitions in which they won medals for the College.