The University’s Cooperative and Multipurpose Society Limited as well as the National Association of Academic Technologists (NAAT), FUNAAB Branch, have elected new executive officers to steer the affairs of both organisations.

University Cooperative and NAAT ElectionsThe newly-elected President, UNAAB Cooperative and Multipurpose Society Limited, Alhaji Kamarudeen Adedo, has promised to treat and attend to the requests of all cooperators equally without fear or favour, ill-will or affection. He stated this in his acceptance speech after being elected the new helmsman for the Cooperative Society, at the Annual General Meeting (AGM), held recently. Alhaji Adedo, who polled a total of 329 votes, to defeat other contestants, pledged to run the society alongside members of the executive with the fear of God, thereby consolidating on the past records by engaging in profitable investments that would enhance income of the Society. The President promised holding of regular general meetings to disseminate necessary information hoping that such avenue would be used to listen to advice, suggestion and constructive criticism from stakeholders.

Other members of the newly elected-executive are: Mr. Jonathan Fatokun, Vice-President; Mr. Ogini Odiato, Secretary; Mrs. Margaret Omisope, Treasurer; while the ex-officio members are Professor Adewale Dipeolu, Mrs. Titilayo Okuboye, Mr. Oluwatodimu Oladapo, Mrs. Abosede Adeoye and Mr. Olufemi Owoade. Earlier, the President, Ogun State Cooperative Federation Limited, Alhaji Ola Balogun, acknowledged the positive contributions of the Society to the development of cooperative movement in the state, using the opportunity to appreciate the University Management for the conducive environment that enabled the Society to thrive.

NAAT Elected OfficialsThe Vice-Chancellor, Professor Olusola Oyewole, represented by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Professor Catherine Eromosele, commended the resilience, hardwork and steadfastness of the UNAAB Cooperative Society, adding that the body had grown to become a driving force in the area of solving financial challenges facing staff members. In his management report, the immediate past President of the Society, Professor Adewale Dipeolu, said the 2015/2016 financial had been a good year, expressing hope that subsequent years would be better. He appreciated everyone that has contributed to the successes his team achieved over the years, as he called for more support by the cooperators for the
new executive.

In a related development, the National Association of Academic Technologists (NAAT), FUNAAB Branch, has elected new executives to run the affairs of the association for the next four year. Comrade Joseph Olurinde, of the Department of Biochemistry emerged as Chairman; Comrade Taiwo Ademola, of College of Engineering, is Vice-Chairman; Comrade Olabode Alamu, of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, is Secretary; and Comrade Andrew Alake, of the Department of Electrical/Electronics, is Treasurer.

Others are Comrade Emmanuel Essienekpo, of the Information and Communication Technology Resource Centre, Financial Secretary; and Engineer Benedict Anyanwu, of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Public Relations Officer. The election, which was conducted during the 1st NAAT-FUNAAB Quadrennial Congress, was held under the supervision of its National President, Comrade Sanni Sulaimon, who was represented by both the Vice President ll, Engineer Peter Odiah; and the Zonal Coordinator, South-West, Engineer Awogbemi Omolaja.