CPN Inducts 53 FUNAAB Computer Science Graduates

CPN Inducts 53 FUNAAB Computer Science Graduates

Speaking on the theme, “IT Professional: The Needed Impetus”, at the 4th Induction Ceremony, the Guest Speaker and the Head, Computer Services, Office of the Accountant-General, Ogun State, Mr. Odusanya A. Adebayo described a professional as someone that invests in himself, prepares and broadens his knowledge, capability and scope, in order to meet the challenges required in the service of others.

He stressed that a professional focuses on value for clients, the stakeholders, co-workers and the world in general.

Mr. Adebayo who noted that the opposite of professionalism is mediocrity, said that no one ever felt great about a system that didn’t really or an outcome that consumes more than it delivers, adding that a professional does not seek perfection but rather maximum value for the client.

The Guest Speaker, also disclosed that a professional is measured by three attributes; Attitude, Development and Ability, pointing out that professionals act in the interest of their customers, not themselves, because “a professional wants to build something, he wants to see the work completed, get result, tidy things, tie up loose ends and deliver to his customers or employers”.

He further added that an IT professional must be competent in emerging and current technologies, technical expertise, confidentiality, ethical codes, adherence to principles and practice.

The Guest Speaker highlighted the importance of IT professionalism to include enhancing growth and adding value to an organization, provision of better service delivery to clients and increased trust between employer and employee. He added that professonalism forms the pillar for company’s vision and mission, improves customer satisfaction and helps to represent the industry in a way that will encourage greater respect and appreciation for skills.

Mr. Adebayo who is also the immediate past State Chairman of the Nigeria Computer Society (NCS), Ogun State Chapter, enjoined the graduands not to be good Information Technology professionals in technical knowledge and experience alone, they should also have the right attitude with good soft skills such as, Communication, Interpersonal, Analytical, Statistical, Managerial and Leadership.

Earlier, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Kolawole Salako in his Opening Remarks said that the University is proud of its graduates, noting that the Inductees are IT professionals and therefore have a role to play in nation building. He congratulated their parents and relations while urging them to be good ambassadors of the University and the country. He was represented by the Dean, College of Plant Science and Crop Production (COLPLANT), Prof. Mufutau Atayese.

The President/Chairman of Council CPN, Professor Charles Uwadia while presenting his Address, said that CPN has given new graduates between two to three years to become professional members by writing CPN qualifying exams, stressing that after Induction the new graduates become Graduate Members and when they complete and pass their examination, they will become Professional Members.

According to Professor Uwadia, the graduates of FUNAAB have been given the opportunity to write only the two final stages of the examination, saying that nobody is qualified to practice Information Technology without being a member of CPN. The President was represented by the Chairman, Induction Committee, Professor Adesina Sodiya of Computer Science Department, FUNAAB.

Highlights of the event includes Oath Taking by the Inductees, presentation of certificates to the Inductees, presentation of Awards to the Best and Second Best Graduating Students of Computer Science; Abdullahi Monsuru with CGP 4.57 and Adenekan Esther Oluwatosin with CGP 4.54, both were awarded free examination fee into the professional body.

Present at the occasion were Dean, College of Physical Sciences (COLPHYS), Professor A. O. Mustapha who was represented by the Deputy Dean, Professor Adio Akinwale, Professor Osebi Asiribo and Professor Olusegun Folorunso and the Head, Computer Science Department, Dr. (Mrs.) Adebukola Onashoga.